Powered by Invision Power Board

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Search URLs

eeeeh
Jun 19 2010, 03:46
+Quote Post





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-June 10



Implement search urls from oMule? Like ed2k://|search|query|/

See here & here.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #1
Aw3
Jul 28 2010, 00:25
+Quote Post





Group: Admins
Posts: 7320
Joined: 8-December 03



This can be added. Do you want to help with testing?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #2
eeeeh
Jul 28 2010, 10:07
+Quote Post





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-June 10



I can do that...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #3
Aw3
Aug 12 2010, 02:13
+Quote Post





Group: Admins
Posts: 7320
Joined: 8-December 03



Here's the build.
Please post here how it goes.

This post has been edited by Aw3: Aug 14 2010, 02:40
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #4
eeeeh
Aug 13 2010, 14:41
+Quote Post





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-June 10



Space gets replaced by + and won't give any results when searching from browser.
Most special characters like = & ! # % $ between two words give none or few results.
If a search is already in progress maybe cancel it and start a new search if you click another link. Annoying that you have to click cancel button.
Otherwise it looks alright.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #5
Aw3
Aug 14 2010, 03:40
+Quote Post





Group: Admins
Posts: 7320
Joined: 8-December 03



Well, + is there because browser should use %20 for a space, not plus sign.
We can replace + with space, it's not an issue.
I can see & and ! being used in the title, but I fail to understand what = % # $ can do there. In general it's not clear what to filter out.

It's better to avoid previous search cancelation. It will fill editbox with a string passed from a browser in this case, so you can start it manually when previous search is over or manually canceled.
Running too many searches over short period of time can cause your blacklisting by the servers.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #6
eeeeh
Aug 14 2010, 15:11
+Quote Post





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-June 10



Firefox uses an add-on which filters out spaces and certain characters. Couldn't get ff to take ed2k links so didn't test. With the opera custom search you can only add a search url with %s as the query to search by right clicking text and search with emule. Spaces turns to +. Spaces in ed2k links turns to %20.

If you mark some text with chars like = or # you will only get exact search results, but if you create a search url with those, you probably want to get only exact results, so I'm not seach what to filter out either.

This post has been edited by eeeeh: Aug 14 2010, 15:20
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #7
Aw3
Aug 15 2010, 03:07
+Quote Post





Group: Admins
Posts: 7320
Joined: 8-December 03



Please try another build. It replaces + with space, plus filters out ! ? &.

BTW, you can also make another shortcut in a browser for the exact search.
Using your Opera example try to use " or %22 arount %s.

This post has been edited by Aw3: Aug 16 2010, 02:25
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #8
eeeeh
Aug 15 2010, 16:58
+Quote Post





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-June 10



Don't get exact search with "". If I search for "insane quality" HighQuality-Insane.xml shows up, but it doesn't matter much.
You might as well just filter out everything except letters, numbers and spaces to not restrict search results.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #9
Aw3
Aug 16 2010, 02:29
+Quote Post





Group: Admins
Posts: 7320
Joined: 8-December 03



Exact search is a feature of the server, so I can't tell how exactly it works. I looks like in this particular case there's no difference. It could be because of the space.
But if you try "insane-quality" or "insane_quality" you will see a difference from just insane-quality or insane_quality.

BTW, thanks for testing.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
Post #10

Reply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 09:08